July 1 2022

Today I read (among other things) David Foster Wallace's short story, Church Not Made With Hands. If you couldn't tell by the title, it is quite religious/spiritual in both its subject matter and in the way DFW writes about it. However it's not nearly accessible or straightforward as the other short stories and I'll probably have to read it again. I found the imagery of the story very striking, albeit a little stilted and abstract.

June 29 2022

Been listening to Wavebreaks by Salt Tank as I write this. I've started to listen to a lot more of this type of music recently - trance, house, and techno. It is really suited for listening on public transport, zoning out as people shuffle in and out of the bus or subway on their daily commute. Watching movies at the cinema has been great. It's been so long and I've gotten sick of watching them by myself on my laptop. The weather has been overcast all day, drizzling from time to time. It does not feel like summer at all.